Motion platform

T

Tim Johnson

I'm looking for the cheapest and hopefully easiest way to build a motion base for an in-home simulator. Electrical actuators seem to be the best because they are maintenence free, oiled for life and quite. A friend however said they can't hold much weight and hydraulic or pneumatic systems would be smoother and stronger. Servos are expensive and difficult to program. I'm an amateur with no knowledge of programming or hydraulics. I'm great with computers however and am willing to learn what it takes, I just don't know what to learn. I'm looking for a motion base with two degrees of freedom that can hold around 700 pounds. All I want is pitch and role using pneumatics, hydraulics, actuators, plc's, whatever. What's the best technology, what do I need to put it all together, and where can I find the equipment I need? Thanks in advance, Tim.

W

William Sturm

Not having all of the information, I would lean
towards electrical actuators with ball screws and a 2 axis motion control board, such as a Galil or Delta Tau.

dear Tim,
I once spent some time trying to design a low-cost, home-built full-motion flight simulator.
Main issues:

1. motion platform: any solution (electric or hydraulic) is expensive.
Hydraulic is the best, but amateur piping may be dangerous due to the high
operating pressure. Pneumatic solution is not suggested, actions are not
quick enough.

2. to simplify mechanic assembly you may want to evaluate a reversed,
simplified (3-axis) Stewart platform, using hoists and cables: try
http://www.troatie.com/papers/motionbase.pdf or search the web for Stewart
platforms.

3. regardless of the solution, once you have all the mechanics set up you
need to get the data from the simulator (aircraft, car, etc) as fast as you
can, process the data as fast as you can in order to issue motion commands
very quickly. The whole system (sw+hw+mechanics) must be highly responsive.