Interested in automation

D

David

My name is David and I live in NC. I was wondering if I could get some advice on getting in the automation field? I will try to keep it fast and simple and if you are not interested then it is ok. I went to a community college and got a degree in electrical installation and maintence. I worked in the electrical field of residential, light commercial, and light industrial. I have a limited electrical contractors license. About 7 months ago I got a job as an outside sales rep at an electrical distributor. I have never seen any automation until now (studied about it some in school but didn't really know the real depth of it). Our store deals a little with it like start/stop buttons and that is about it. We sell cutler-hammer stuff and it is not that popular in this area. For some reason I have picked up a fasination with automation and want to learn it. I have been trying to read any books I can on any of it like some basic PLC
programming using ladder logics and some basic DC fundamental books. Would you have any suggestions on what the best thing is for me to do to get in to this field? school, get on with a contol company, or what? Any advice would help and thank you for your time.

Thanks,

David

W

William Sturm

My advice... It is a tough field right now, lots of
competition, but it will probably get better. But if
you really love it, do it anyways, just be better at
it.

Find an entry level job with a controls integrator
where you can take on some smaller projects and have
people that you can ask questions and learn from.
Basically jump in and get your feet wet.

After you have some skills, if you don't mind
travelling some, there always seems to be a demand for
field service and installation.

If you prefer to stay local, best bet would be to find
a plant and get in as a maintenance tech or even as a
controls engineer, if you are ready for your own
projects. You may work some long hours, but you'll be
home every night.